Quentin Blake

‘I want everything I do to look spontaneous, its not that I think all illustration should look like that, but this is what i can do.’

Quentin Blake is a very talented illiterate that is very embedded in the roots of drawing techniques. When i first think of his work i can’t help but think of my childhood, not only because he illustrated the Roald Dahl books that i used to read under my covers with a flash light but also because the pictures have a real child like quality that you cant help but smile at. He draws the lines as if they themselves have a mood, varying between quick thin lines that bring movement and excitement, to thicker slower lines that can really transport you into the image.

The aesthetics of the drawing remind me of the drawing that all kids have done and handed to there parents when they were younger, but his while somehow maintaining this playful quality also add detail to tell a story. Everything from the colours used in the picture to the way that the faces are drawn add to the feel and emotions in the piece. I love how you can get so much out of simple image. It has really made me think about how i use lines in my own work, how that line was drawn can add or deduct from an article.

Leave a comment